DSM Integrated Annual Report 2021

Composition of the Supervisory Board

The composition of DSM’s Supervisory Board is diverse in gender, nationality, background, knowledge and experience. The Board comprises four men and four women. Two members are Dutch, one American, one Dutch-American, one British, one Singaporean, one Australian and one Belgian. The Board’s current members are Thomas Leysen (Chair), John Ramsay (Deputy Chair), Eileen Kennedy, Carla Mahieu, Erica Mann, Frits van Paasschen, Pradeep Pant and Corien Wortmann-Kool. For detailed information on their backgrounds, see the company website and Supervisory Board and Managing Board Royal DSM.

Following best practice 2.1.10 of the Dutch Corporate Governance Code, the Supervisory Board establishes that its members are able to act critically and independently of one another, the Managing Board and any particular interests involved. To safeguard this, the Supervisory Board is composed in such a way that all its members are independent in the meaning of best practice 2.1.8 of the Dutch Corporate Governance Code.

The targeted profile of the Supervisory Board is reflected in its regulations, which are published on the company website under ‘Corporate Governance’. The Supervisory Board has four committees to cover key areas in greater detail: Audit, Nominations (to the Supervisory Board and Managing Board), Remuneration (of the Supervisory Board and Managing Board) and Sustainability. Information on these committees is given elsewhere in this section. The charters of the committees are published on the company website under ‘Corporate Governance’.